Tag

, , , , , ,

11182658_10206573097396313_254775884635923063_o

*Photo Copyright: Francesco Faraci, Genesi del Dolore

“Don’t be sad mother” – Anonymous

I am sorry Mother that the ship sunk and that I couldn’t get there and pay off the debts from the journey,

Don’t be sad mother that they didn’t find my body, for what use could it be to you now, except for the cost of transport, the funeral and burial,

I’m sorry mother that war came to us and I had to leave like the others, although my dreams were not big like theirs,

As you know, all my dreams were the size of a box of medicine for your colon, and the cost of fixing your teeth. On that note, my teeth are now green from the colour of the algae clinging to them,

Despite that, they are still more beautiful than the dictator’s teeth,

I am sorry my dear for building you a house of illusions. A wooden cottage like the ones we saw in movies. A humble cottage far away from the barrel bombs, far away from sectarianism, ethnic loyalties and the rumours of our neighbours,

I am sorry brother that I couldn’t send you the fifty Euros that I promised you at the beginning of every month so you could have a good time ahead of your graduation,

I am sorry sister that I didn’t send you the new mobile phone that has wi-fi like the one your better-off friend has,

I am sorry my beautiful home that I will never hang my coat behind your door,

I am sorry dear divers and search and rescue workers, for I don’t know the name of the sea I drowned in,

Rest easy immigration department, for I won’t be a heavy burden on you,

Thank you dear sea for welcoming us without a visa or a passport. Thank you to the fish who will share me without asking about my religion or political beliefs,

Thank you to the news channels who will report the news of our deaths for five minutes every hour for two days,

And thank you for grieving us when you hear the news… I’m sorry I drowned.

” Madre, non essere triste” – Poesia anonima

Mi dispiace, Madre, perché la barca è affondata e non sono riuscito a saldare i debiti che avevo fatto per pagare il viaggio.

Non ti rattristare, Madre, se non trovano il mio corpo, cosa potrà mai offrirti, se non il peso delle spese di rimpatrio e sepoltura?

Mi dispiace, Madre, perché è arrivata la guerra ed io, come tanti altri, sono dovuto partire, anche se i miei sogni non erano grandi come i loro.

Lo sai, i miei sogni erano grandi come lo scatolo delle medicine per il tuo colon e come le spese per sistemare i tuoi denti. A proposito, i miei denti sono diventati verdi come le alghe che li avvolgono.

Nonostante ciò, restano più belli di quelli del dittatore!

Mi dispiace, amore mio, perché ti ho costruito una casa fatta di illusioni. Una casetta di legno, come quelle che vedevamo nei film. Una casetta umile, lontana dai barili esplosivi, dalle discriminazioni religiose e razziali, dai pregiudizi dei vicini.

Mi dispiace, fratello mio, perché non posso mandarti i cinquanta euro che avevo promesso di inviarti ogni mese per farti divertire un po’ prima della laurea.

Mi dispiace, sorella mia, perché non posso mandarti il cellulare con il Wi-Fi, come quello della tua amica ricca.

Mi dispiace, mia bellissima casa, perché non potrò più appendere il cappotto dietro la tua porta.

Mi dispiace, sommozzatori e soccorritori perché io non conosco il nome del mare in cui sono affondato.

E voi dell’ufficio rifugiati, non preoccupatevi, perché io non sarò un peso per voi.

Ti ringrazio mare, perché ci hai accolto senza visto né passaporto. Ringrazio i pesci che divideranno il mio corpo senza chiedermi di che religione io sia o quale sia la mia ideologia politica.

Ringrazio i mezzi di comunicazione, che trasmetteranno la notizia della nostra morte per cinque minuti, ogni ora, per un paio di giorni.

E grazie a voi, perché ci piangete quando apprendete la notizia…Mi dispiace di essere affondato.

It is rumoured to have been written by a Syrian refugee right before his boat sank. It was not possible to verify its authenticity by independent sources. The original poem was in Arabic, the English translation was published here.

Sarebbe stata scritta da un rifugiato siriano attimi prima che la barca su cui si trovava affondasse. Non è stato possibile verificare da fonti indipendenti se si tratti di una lettera autentica. Il testo originale è in Arabo, tradotto in inglese qui.

Traduzione di Francesca Colantuoni

